Keep Calm 2.2 available on the App Store

20130719-080856.jpg

Today I updated Keep Calm to version 2.2. This new version adds the following new features:

  • Completely new flat UI – this is an iOS 7 style UI as I haven’t decided yet whether I will require iOS 7 when it comes out
  • The new UI makes it a lot faster to make posters – on average fewer taps are require to make a poster and it is now a lot clearer how one carries out basic tasks
  • The app is faster – for those interested, I took out redundant Core Data and Core Graphics calls
  • When you first launch the app you are welcomed with a new welcome screen. I’m particularly pleased with these because it provides quite a nice way of demoing some of the Pro features. Again, for those interested I use a UIScrollView and a single UIImageView that gets translated by the scroll offset
  • Runs much better on the iPhone 5 – I had spent a lot of time focussing on designing the regular iPhone version (because posters seem less stretched) rather than the full iPhone 5 screen which meant that there were a few buttons that weren’t showing up in the right places. This version is a lot more solid
  • Less code – this isn’t really a feature that my users need to care about, but I swear to god it makes my life a lot easier. By reducing the total number of delegates in the app (almost every single view controller – and some views/models too – declared a protocol) and making each view controller focused on the purpose of the app rather than being generic meant that I could write a lot less code. I also removed a lot of UIActionSheets because a) I don’t think they look very pretty and b) I really don’t like declaring them and writing UIActionSheetDelegate methods 😦

On the whole, users should find this update far more enjoyable and easy to use than previously as they upgrade over the course of the weekend.

4 thoughts on “Keep Calm 2.2 available on the App Store

  1. I love the new UI update! It looks really great! One bug I have found though, when selecting a font, clicking back (i.e. Selecting no font) it crashes! Hopefully this bug can be squashed! πŸ˜‰ Thanks!

  2. Hi
    I just bought the app with the in-app purchase, but I think Get 1000 Icons not worked. Since I bought that in-app and still can’t use the additional icons.

Leave a Reply

