Play Time

This morning I was scrolling through iTunes having a look at my top played songs and it occurred to me that iTunes doesn’t actually offer a way of seeing how much time you’ve dedicated to listening to a song or your entire library. My first approach to solving this problem was to make a spreadsheet and type in the length of each song and the play count however after a couple of songs I got bored so came up with a simpler solution.

iTunes stores a list of all your music in an XML file in the iTunes folder so I put together a simple app in Xcode that reads this file (or the user can select one if the iTunes file couldn’t be found) and does all the math for you. Play Time should work on 64-bit Lion fine.

Play Time for Lion (DMG)

Leave a Reply

